Heidelberg and the beauty of functionality

Those of you following me on instagram, twitter or tumblr know that the past four days I have been in Heidelberg and decided to catch up on the excitement of Munich rather than tell you about my time there.

For one part this is due to my not doing much especially in the evenings because I haven’t been feeling well. For the second part this has been due to my being lazy in Munich or rather up to things. But enough of that let me tell you about Heidelberg.

We arrived in Heidelberg as planned after a three hour train trip from Munich.

20120616-143439.jpg

That night we just settled in and went to bed quite early to be fit for the tour of the university campus the next day.

The Guy giving us the tour had a serious thing about the “campus buildings not being beautiful, no downright ugly! They are beautiful thou, their beauty lies in their functionality.” While seeing his point I did find some fascinating works of art.

20120616-184234.jpg

I will leave you with some pictures. Till then !
Kitty ❤

My great minds and part one of the rabbit artwork.

20120616-211843.jpg

Rabbit jumping through glass.

20120616-212418.jpg

A close up of the möbius loopy thing.

20120616-212457.jpg

It was pouring cats and dogs on day one.

20120616-212513.jpg

Everyone cycles places so bicycles are everywhere.

20120616-212533.jpg

Text for you soon

Kitty ❤

About TheKitty

Four facts about me: #1 I love traveling #2 I am a Hufflepuff pride yall) #3 I am just a slight bit artsy nerdy crazy #4 I am a Nerdfighter! DFTBA !!

Posted on June 16, 2012, in Thoughts, Travel and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. German buildings of the late 20th and early 21st century are never – EVER – beautiful. Not even “in their functionality”. (..says the North-Rhine-Westphalian.)
    It may sometimes even seem like an insult to say that they are (I guess..). 😛

Leave a Reply

